Skip to main content


The Heart of Education Awards for CCSD Teachers 2021

Celebrate CCSD teachers who went above and beyond for their students during this past year. Hear from those who nominated outstanding teachers as well as those 20 teachers who received the Heart of Education Award  for 2021.

The awards program celebrates outstanding CCSD educators who go above and beyond for their students, both in and out of the classroom. The top 20 educators each received a $5,000 cash award, on top of a $1,000 donation to their school. With the traditional red-carpet ceremony at the center’s Reynolds Hall sidelined again this year due to COVID-19, The Smith Center worked with CCSD officials and local health authorities to safely inform all finalists and present awards to the winners. Individual teacher stories will be highlighted this year in a special one-hour broadcast on Vegas PBS Channel 10. 

Congrats to the 2021 Winners

  • Hernan Aguirre
    William E. Snyder Elementary School

  • Christiana M. Diaz Caballero
    Myrtle Tate Elementary School

  • Cassandra N. Jones Barcelo
    Las Vegas Academy of the Arts

  • Kristan Noelle Nigro
    Steve Schorr Elementary School

  • Sarah E. Alsterlind
    Shelley Berkley Elementary School

  • Sarah M. Dlouhy
    Tyrone Thompson Elementary School

  • Mike D. Lang
    Laura Dearing Elementary School

  • Nicole Pate
    Del Sol Academy of the Performing Arts

  • Joel M. Bradley
    Jerome Mack Middle School

  • Nicole Hunt
    Wilbur and Theresa Faiss Middle School

  • Jeremy S. Lawson
    Desert Pines High School

  • Jose Israel Ramirez Gamez
    Spring Valley High School

  • Milton Castellanos
    Northwest Career and Technical Academy

  • Xiaowei Hunt
    Ed W. Clark High School

  • Brenda J. McNair
    Dorothy Eisenberg Elementary School

  • Anna D. Stein
    Marion B. Earl Elementary School

  • Sarah Cooper
    Southeast Career and Technical Academy

  • Jamie Huston
    Las Vegas Academy of the Arts

  • Christine M. Mecham
    Lied STEM Academy

  • Amy B. Zeiders
    Lorna J. Kesterson Elementary School

Presented by

The Smith Center
The Rogers Foundation